Writing Tips

Let’s jump right in: 5 Tips On Writing

It’s always tough to just start writing on a new blog for me. I mean, what am I supposed to say? Should I act like everyone reading this already knows me or should I tell you all about myself?

So, here I sit struggling to figure out what to say. I figured the best thing for me to do would be to just get right into it. When I started this blog, I decided I wanted to talk about writing. Most of my career I’ve been left to figure things out on my own, and I don’t want you to have that issue, so in hopes of making it a little easier on you, I’m going to share what I can.

And today, I’ll start with my top five tips for every writer

5. Write often, even if you write bad

It doesn’t matter how bad you write. You can edit and polish things up but if you never write you won’t be able to polish anything up- and then what? You’re not going to get any writing published, or even readable!

4. Read often, even if it’s bad

If you’re reading something good, it will inspire you
If you’re reading something bad, it will give you a reason not to write that way
When you read, no matter what you read or what you write, you’re going to get ideas. Maybe not right off the bat, but eventually it will be there.

3. Take risks

Send that manuscript off to the publisher, even if you think it’s crap. Enter a contest. Go to a writing class.
Take some risks, you never know what will happen. A major reason most of my stuff got published is because I took the risk and did it.

2. Meet more writers

I cannot tell you how amazing it is to meet more writers. Be it in person or online, get out there and talk to some writers. It might be good for your networking and good for your santy.

1. Don’t stop

Whatever you do: Don’t stop writing. I don’t care who thinks it’s a dumb idea or how bad you think you are or if you only have a couple minutes a day to work on it. Don’t give up.

 

Leave a Reply

