Writing Tips

Writing Romance

I figured since I write romance, it would be a good idea to actually do a blog post about writing romance.

First things first, I have to admit, I’m not an expert. Some people have told me I shouldn’t be writing romance. Some people have told me I suck at writing over all. But I honestly don’t give a s**t what they say. I said already, I’m not an expert, but I do know a thing or two and I’m going to share it with you, and if that is useful to you then great- I want to pass it on. If not, then you can say it sucks and at least you know that it’s not something you ever want to do.

5. Romance is about the relationship- but other stuff is cool too

This is actually where I get knocked a lot. I like to have subplots going on, and some publishers don’t like that. I think most publishers say at least 60% romance. I probably do closer to 50% and then I have a couple other subplots. So, it’s a lot of opinon based stuff. I know I’ve gotten knocked for not having enough subplots and I’ve gotten knocked for having too much (on the same book) so it’s all about who is reading your book. More than anything, it’s about you writing the book.

4. The biggest compliment I get is that my stories are “real” er- most of the time

Okay, some times I get knocked because I wrap up too fast (I just get so excited to get it out there) and sometimes things are “too happy” but the big compliment I get is that my characters (and my stories) seem really real. I’ve been told that the conversations are real. I’ve been told my subplots have really hit home for some people (Rock Stars Are Trouble features a sister character who is a drug addict and overdoses.)
I’ve been told that my main characters are realistic (actually, for Rock Stars Are a Trope, someone’s told me that my main character handles the whole “rich boyfriend giving her stuff” really well)

Real, to me, is the biggest compliment. When I write romance, I want to take somewhere away. I want to give someone an adventure or make them feel like they are in a dream- but I don’t want them to think something is shady or “too perfect”.

3. It doesn’t have to be cheesy. It doesn’t have to be Happily Ever After

I have to admit. As a romance reader, I hate HEA. I can’t stand it. You can not put a couple together and 65,000 words later have them get married. I’m just not buying it.

2. Give it reality

Again, this goes back to the biggest compliment I’ve been given. Keep your romance real. Keep your character’s real. Give your plots some reality and people will love them (even if you’re writing fantasy)

1. Take me away on an adventure and make me fall in love

When it comes any kind of writing, it’s important to take your reader away on an adventure, but a romance novel is about falling in love. I wanted to be taken on an adventure and fall in love.

Leave a Reply

