Marketing Tips

Getting Book Reviews: The Basics

So, a little while ago we were talking about ways to promote your book when it’s coming out (Click this link here to read said post) and I said I’d do another post all on getting book reviews, since they are one of the best ways to get word out about your book. So, today I’m going to give you a (quick) rundown on how to get book reviews. Don’t worry, it’s easy!

First things first, take a nice deep breath. I know when we talk about getting reviews it can be a scary idea. I mean, you’re putting your work out there for someone to read and judge and then tell everyone if they think it is good or shit.

Now, it’s time to actually start looking for bloggers. Websites like BookBloggerList.com make it easy. They… well, list a bunch of book bloggers under genres and you just scroll through. You can also reach out to friends who write the same genre or check out sites like Goodreads for book bloggers who read your genre.

Once you start to find a list of people, and their email addresses make sure to read the guidelines. Just because they say they accept the genre you write doesn’t mean they want exactly what you have to offer. Some people refuse to read triggering stuff, some people have themes they hate (I hate love triangles and stupid characters) so make sure you’re book fits 100% what they are looking for.

Then, it’s time to send out an email. Most bloggers will want to know the length, genre, themes, blurb, and a few other things- but some might ask that you send a copy along right away or wait. Some might ask for Amazon links, some might ask for publication dates, etc. which is another reason it’s so important to make sure you read the guidelines. But once you have, you can craft your email (and, I’ll be honest there is nothing wrong with having a basic template! It can save a lot of time, just make sure you add whatever you may need to.)

What to include in a basic template:

I always include a bio, the basics on my book, a little bit about the series and a 5-10 word sum up of what my book is about, along with a ‘thank you’ for taking the time to read my review request.

Addressing the email and picking the subject line

Just real quick. Never address the email as “Dear sir or madam.” or “hello insert email address”.
If you’re not sure of the bloggers name, leave it out. If you’re not sure of their gender, leave that out too. Nothing gets a review request sent to me deleted faster than being called “sir” I can tell you that much!
When it comes to picking the subject line, be clear about what you’re looking for. A review Request. Include the title of your book and your (author) name. Just like most publishers have you submit manuscripts to them.

Providing copies

Yes! You’re supposed to provide a copy of your book free of charge to the reviewer- in case you didn’t know. Now, it doesn’t have to be a print copy (of course we all love getting those for free there is no doubt it’s easier to send ecopies!) and I think everyone will be happy to let you know what format they need. The most common ones are Mobi, Epub, and PDF. If you’re working with a publisher they will make sure you get these. If you’re selfpublishing you’ll have to figure these out on your own (I know lots of websites will convert them for you, but not having a lot of expierence with self publishing I can’t suggest any)

 

Okay so there are the basics, I’m going to do one more post about this in a little while so let me know if you have any questions you’d like answered! The post is a little bit of a surprise but I’ve hinted at it here, so stay tuned for that!

I’m also going to be doing another post about promoting your work soon, a few thoughts on promoting and what I believe are misconceptions. But stay tuned for a few posts on writing as well! I’m super excited to be sharing my thoughts with ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

