Marketing Tips

Review requests from a book bloggers pov

So, recently, I said that I was going to do another post about getting reviews for your book- but this time it was going to be a little bit different than the last. And what did I mean by that? Well, if you read the title you’ll have an idea.

Today I’m going to talk about what it’s like to get book review requests. I know anyone here who has a book out and is reading this probably knows what it’s like to send them out, but does anyone else here know what it’s like to get them? I figured I’d share a few quick do’s and don’ts.

Don’t skip the research.

Please make sure you’re emailing someone that you’ve done at leats a little bit of research on them. I mean, it doesn’t have to be down to the last detail (like where they live) but at least know what kind of books they want to read and what kind of info they need to know

Do use the right name- or don’t even bother using one

Please for the love of whatever God you believe in, don’t use “sir/madam” and if you don’t know someone’s gender, do use sir or madam. Just use “Hello.” That works. I don’t think many bloggers are going to be offended by that.

No snarky ass follow ups

I know, I shoudln’t even have to say this. But I get them all the time. Things like “Since you ignored my last email I won’t assume you will get back to me this time” Well if that’s the case then don’t freakin’ email me, sweetie. Hem, snarkeyness out, back to the topic at hand.

I really do get a lot of rude emails, but the truth is I get rude followups to books that I haven’t even had the time to look at yet, and those are the worst ones.

Also, should go without saying but: No name calling, dudes.

Do give the blogger time

Remember that a lot of people are book bloggers because they love reading, not because they get paid to do it. They have a life, a job, a family, and countless other things that they need to take care of. Give the blogger time to get back to you, and to review your book if they agree to. Plan for 2-3 months waiting time before getting your review to go live.

Do understand that the blogger is not going to buy your book. You’re going to give them a copy in exchange for a review

This is one of the best things about being a book reviewer. You get free books. And that’s awesome, I mean don’t you want free books? So, understand that the reviewer who agrees to review your book isn’t going to go out and buy it, you have to give them a copy.

Do talk to them about what will happen if the review is bad if you’re scared

Some bloggers don’t post bad reviews. Others do.

Some will say on the blog what they do/don’t do if they read a book they don’t like, but if they don’t and you’re worried about it, ask.

Don’t beg.

Please, I’m begging you (pun intended) don’t beg a reviewer to review your book. Don’t say things like

A few other things not to say:

“If it pleases you, I’d like to tell you about my newest story….”

“A sure fire bestseller”

“The best thing you’ll read all year.”

“I need….”

“Here is a link to buying my book.”

“My entire book can be accesses via this link” prceeds to inset shady looking link.

NOTHING about your personal life unless it reflects the story

“I need to know by ___ if you’re interested.”

“Even if you don’t think you’d like this book, please give it a shot.”

“I know you said you weren’t interested in _____ but….”

Leave a Reply

