Marketing Tips

Misconceptions about marketing

So, today I want to talk about a couple misconceptions I believe a lot (or a few) writers have about marketing their book. But before that, let me start off by saying that I may not be any better. Some days I catch myself doing a few of the things that I have on the list, so it’s not just you or random people I know- this is me sometimes.

Promo, promo, promo

I know when you really want to promote your book it can be hard not to just throw it in everyones face. Like, really hard. Trust me, I get it. Because that’s what I want to do every day. I want to say “HEY! LOOK ROCK STARS FOR COUNTRY GIRLS IS A BEST SELLER LOOK AT IT. BUY IT. WANT IT”

But we all know that doesn’t work, right? We all know that if we saw it, we’d just scroll past it, yet we get so caught up and then we do it by accident.

At most, I suggest promoting your book once a day unless running a blitz of any kind and sharing a lot of other people’s posts featuring your content. For my Twitter, I promote my book 5-7 times a week, for my Facebook, it’s much less unless it has just come out, then I’m trying to keep everyone updated on it’s stats.

Only talking about you

It can be hard not to get caught up in talking about you. Your writing. Your book (hem, read above) and everything that YOU think, but it’s important to get out there and have conversations with people. Don’t let them just talk about themselves, but don’t force them to listen to you, you, you.

You have to spend a lot of money

See, this one isn’t true. Don’t get me wrong, if you’ve got money invested into your marketing you’re going to reach more people and that’s going to be good for you. More people who see your book (who are in your market) means more people that could want to buy your book- but you can do a lot of free marketing these days. A street team works wonders for this, and some does social media, blogging, Facebook takeovers, etc.

Social media is THE way to go, everything else is out of date

Not true! I still go to book fairs, bookstores, and libraries- not to mention any other place where you could sneak in promos for your book (that is relevant.)

Plus when you have promotional stuff in your hand, it really is one of the coolest feelings in the world (seconded by holding a print copy of your book in your hand- that is a crazy feeling) and no matter what anyone says, business cards are a must. It took me far too long to actually invest in them and now that I have, I’m in love with them.

I’ll get started when I have a book out. There isn’t a need until then.

Every book I read that talks about marketing for authors talks about this idea and they all say it is wrong, wrong, wrong. And I totally agree.

See, as your writing, you can be using your social media, your blog, your Facebook, your whatever to talk about the process and you can be sharing it with everyone. You can be letting them in on it, you can be building hype so that when you have a book that is going to come out you don’t have to find anyone to tell. You will already have a following. You’ll already have a readership.

And when you already have a readership you will already have people who want to buy your book. So, quit reading this and go work your social media or something.

Leave a Reply

