Writing Tips

Why I love Writing Groups: And A Few Tips To Finding Your Own

Okay, I want to start off by saying that I’m current part of a few writing groups. Online and in person- and both have their benefits. And since I’ve joined those writing groups I’ve been able to see a huge change in my writing.

Now, don’t get me wrong it’s taken me a long time to find good writing groups that I’m now part of. I’ve been part of some really crappy ones and some not-so-great-but-had-the-best-intentions ones. I’ll be honest, it’s taken me a long time and lots of groups to find the ones I’m part of now that I love. And I do love them. A good writing group has so many benefits.

A good writing group:

  • Will help you get better as a writer first and foremost
  • Will help keep you inspired
  • Will give feedback (both good and bad) and help connect you with beta readers
  • Will be able to help you when you need help with writing stuff
  • Will introduce you to new ideas and ways to do things
  • Will help keep you updated on industry trends

And honestly so much more. A good writing group will also, above all else, give you a place to go talk about your writing where others will understand. I love my family but besides the other writers in the family, they don’t get it. Not really. They have one idea of what the writing world is like and… it’s just not the way it is. But that’s okay- they aren’t writers and they don’t need to understand it all.

So, when it comes to a good writing group- how do you start?

Decide if you want it to be in person or online.
Both have benefits. If it’s online you can be at your computer while you’re writing (or in the middle of the night) and can connect with those people right away. It’s also a great way to have long term discussions and post “ads” like if you’re looking for beta readers or just want feedback on a story.

Decide if you want it to be for just the genre you write
Be it romance writers or fantasy writers (or bloggers, poetry writers, song writers, etc) it seems like you can always find a niche writing group. Personally, I like to have one or two of those but I also really like having groups that include all genres. I feel like you leave with a great sense of inspiration and normally a few new ideas.

If worst comes to work start your own.
It’s not idea, but sometimes it’s gotta be done. For the longest time I went from group to group hoping to find what I was looking for and I couldn’t so: I made one. Online first, and I’ve branched ou to doing meetup’s as well. The truth is, when I can’t find something I want I get frustrated- so normally I end out fixing that by just doing it myself.

I’ll be doing more on that topic in the next few weeks, so stick around for it. I am by no means an expert but I seem to be figuring it out as I go, and I want to help others start their own successful groups, so I’m going to be sharing what advice I can on that.

Leave a Reply

