Author Interviews

Author Interview: Kasey Belle

Today I’m super excited to be starting something I’ve wanted to start for a while. Author interviews. While I have lots of free reads and stuff to hopefully get you interested in my books, I also want to provide content that helps you with your book- and I’ve found author interviews are some of the best ways to do that, so here is the first one!

I’m thrilled to welcome Kasey Belle to the blog, let’s get into it!

Hi! First, I’d like to welcome you to the blog. Why don’t you tell us a little bit about yourself and your work?

I write erotic, paranormal, and contemporary romance. My latest book is a sexy romantic comedy called: All You Need is Love and Coffee. All of my books revolve around love strong women and woobies. I like my characters to have at least one flaw. Nobody’s perfect so characters should be the same way. All of my books end HEA. I write and read to escape reality. Life’s craptastic enough, I don’t want my books to end on a sad note.

How long have you been writing and publishing your work? What inspired you to start writing and publishing your work?

I’ve written all my life, but I never had the guts to publish. I’m an introvert and as a child preferred the company of my own imagination to being around others. Honestly, as an adult I still do. I didn’t publish my first book until Aug. 2015. I’m actually glad I waited. I wouldn’t have been able to accept the criticism (though mostly constructive) that comes with putting your work out there for all to judge. I was at a point by then that I could take or leave other’s opinions. Some people will like what you do, others won’t, I’m good with that, now.

I was at a crossroads in my life. I’d just left an executive position at a national company after seven years and I wanted something for me. My husband and children urged me to do what made me happy. So I did.

Do you work with a publisher or are you selfpublished? Why that route and what have your thoughts been on it?

I self-pub. I’ve thought about trying to go hybrid, but I’m not sure. I like self-pubbing because you have all the control. No one controls my work or my rights, but it’s not easy. You do everything. You don’t have an endless budget or group of people at your disposal to edit, market, find reviewers, etc. If you don’t do it, it won’t get done. And if you don’t have the money to do it, (which most indie authors don’t) you better get creative and figure out how to do what needs doing with little or no money.

If you could offer any advice to writers out there (published or nonpublished) what would it be?

I could talk about the technical stuff. Don’t rush your manuscript, edit, edit, edit. Get it in front of beta readers. No need to buy an expensive cover. Don’t go into debt you will never recover..blah, blah, blah. Everyone offers advice on those subjects, oh and trends. I don’t follow them. I think following writing trends is dangerous, because you can always tell when an author phones it in. One of the best way to lose readers.

All that is important, but the best pieces of advice I can give another writer (aspiring or otherwise) are:

Take advice and criticism with a grain of salt. That doesn’t mean don’t listen to it, but you have to decide what will work for you. You have to do what is right for you and your story. That includes editing, cover, and price. Even the most seasoned of authors don’t have all the answers. If you allow others to take over and push their ideas or vision on you, then your voice is lost, and your story becomes their interpretation of your dream.

You are going to make mistakes, big and small. Learn from them, don’t make them again. You can’t change what has happened. You can only go forward and change what will. Always remember it is YOUR dream, YOUR voice, and YOUR name. The only way to be proud of your work is to be true to yourself, your story, and your vision.

Not just writing advice, what kind of marketing/networking advice would you offer?

Friend other authors on social media and build a rapport. I believe we are only as strong as we are together. I offer spots in my newsletter to other romance authors to showcase their work and they do the same for me. Reciprocal marketing is a great free way to advertise your book. Bloggers are a great way to get your book out there and most bloggers I’ve found don’t charge. However, I believe anyone kind enough to showcase your work, at the very least, deserves a copy of that book as a thank you.

What is one thing you wish you knew before you started publishing or that you wish you could tell people about writing/publishing?

Do not schedule your release date/pre-order until you’ve finished your second draft. Editing takes a lot longer than you think. Beta readers (acquaintances or strangers not friends) are very important and offer a unique perspective, plus they will always find mistakes you don’t.

Finally, what is in store for the future? Do you have any plans you’re currently working on?

An Unexpected Triad, Book 4 in my Copper Creek Pack Series (erotic paranormal romance) will be out this fall. Sealing the Well, Book 1 in my new series Soulmate for a Seal, will be out before the end of the year. Soulmate for a Seal series is a spin-off based on Jack’s team from A Swing and a Dare.

 Independent Author Kasey Belle, whose sarcastic tendencies and faulty filter will most likely lead to an untimely death, is a southern belle with a sexy imagination.

In 2006, tired of hurricanes and mosquitoes “The Belle” family moved on up, to the west side of the MS, to Las Vegas. Kasey currently lives there with her sweet southern boy/husband, the infamous “Outlaw”, in their newly acquired empty nest. She is the mother of two grown children, foster mom to a 1-yr-old abuse survivor fur-baby (cat) named Buddy, and grandma of a 3-yr-old fur-baby (also a cat) named Cosmo aka Princess Fuzzy-butt.

Kasey promises her readers few things: sexy, woobilicious alpha males; strong, snarky, sarcastic, sassy heroines; lots of hot, steamy sex, and a happily ever after. Other than that, the sky’s the limit, Kasey will fly as high as her little, kinky heart desires. In Kasey’s opinion, a good romance, is raw and honest, limited only by the author’s imagination, not dictated by what society deems as normal. Love is love, and all forms are beautiful.

When Kasey isn’t writing and perfecting her craft, she is spending time with family/friends or kicking back with a bottle of Moscato. Kasey admits she’s addicted to tattoos and books, and won’t be seeking help

Website, Amazon Author PageFacebook

Leave a Reply

