Author Interviews

Author Interview: Mitch Stewart

Today I’m super excited to welcome fellow Canadian author to the blog for an interview. Let’s see what Mr. Stewart from Saskatoon Saskatchewan has to say about his writing and why he picked to self publish!

Hi! First, I’d like to welcome you to the blog. Why don’t you tell us a little bit about yourself and your work?

My name is Mitch Stewart, I’m an author from Saskatoon. I like to run and play video games, but my first love is writing. Within my work, I write all sorts of fiction. I’ve done crime stories, love stories, a zombie story… it’s all over the map. But there’s no ‘hidden meanings’ in my work. I’m not trying to change the world, I just want to entertain you.

How long have you been writing and publishing your work? What inspired you to start writing and publishing your work?

I’ve been writing seriously for about 3.5 years, but I’ve been writing creatively for about… 14? I used to write music when I was a teenager, but fiction is where I ended up falling in love. I’ve always had a million lives I wanted to live: police officer, professional athlete, detective, etc. As well as a love of all things criminal. This was my way to live those lives and tell my stories.

Do you work with a publisher or are you selfpublished? Why that route and what have your thoughts been on it?

I’m currently self-publishing. I’ve done 2 books, but I want to pursue traditional publishing. I chose self-publishing because my first effort was short stories, plus I lacked the knowledge I have now, and my second book was so close and personal to me that I just wanted to get it into the world.
Self-publishing is fun, but there’s a lot to it, far past just writing. You have to get it edited, get a cover made, format the work correctly, market it, etc. And at the end of the day, it’s your money. But conversely, there’s an immense amount of pride that you feel when you hold a book, the sum of your blood, sweat, and tears, a piece of your heart and soul, that you wrote and oversaw to completion that you can’t get without self-publishing. But it is hard work.

If you could offer any advice to writers out there (published or nonpublished) what would it be?

Don’t get discouraged. The only person that can write the story you have in your head is you, so do it. Don’t take it personally if a publisher turns your work down, it’s business. Most of all, write. Just keep writing.

Not just writing advice, what kind of marketing/networking advice would you offer?

The best advice I can give about networking is to not look at people as a job title. What I mean by that is don’t make friends based on what they can do for your book or your career. Look at them as a person with their own goals and own dreams and own book. With marketing, don’t make everything about the sale. Connect with your audience, don’t make everything come back to “buy my book!”.

What is one thing you wish you knew before you started publishing or that you wish you could tell people about writing/publishing?

How much work it is! Beyond just writing, there’s a very real business part of writing, and that’s where, I think, traditional publishing will never ‘die’. As long as the creative types would rather get lost in the muse, traditional publishers will be there to guide the boat.

Finally, what is in store for the future? Do you have any plans you’re currently working on?

I just released my second book, Revixit, but I’m currently working on a Mafia story. After that, I’ve got an idea for a salesperson book. Once I’m doing writing these first million lives, I’ve got a million more waiting.

 

Mitch R Stewart is an author from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. He has self-published 2 books, The Rollercoaster Anthology and Revixit, and is currently writing his third book, with a million more in his head.

Facebook, Twitter, Books

Leave a Reply

