Author Interviews

Author Interview: C. L. Knopf

I love being able to bring you info about writing and publishing. I love being able to share my thoughts- but I want to bring you more advice than just what I have to offer, which is why I adore being able to do author interviews. This week we have the lovely C.L Knopf. So, let’s get started!

Hi! First, I’d like to welcome you to the blog. Why don’t you tell us a little bit about yourself and your work?

Thank you so much! My name is C. L. Knopf and I am originally from a small town in West Germany.  Being born into a military family I’ve traveled quite a bit and currently reside in Georgia. I’m married and have a young daughter who keeps me on my toes. I’ve always been fascinated by the beauty of falling in love so choosing my genre (Contemporary Romance) was very easy. I just published my first novel “Unfold You” and it truly was an amazing experience to say the least.

 

How long have you been writing and publishing your work? What inspired you to start writing and publishing your work?

I’m actually fairly new to writing. I just started in January 2017 and published in April 2017. I’ve always had a very big imagination and plenty of ideas but I never dreamed of actually writing a book. My inspiration came from my cousin’s wife who published her book a few months ago. When I stumbled across her post of Facebook, promoting her work I contacted her and she helped me every step of the way.

 

Do you work with a publisher or are you self-published? Why that route and what have your thoughts been on it?

I am self-published. I’ve looked into working with publishers but I really like the idea of being in charge of everything on my own.

 

If you could offer any advice to writers out there (published or nonpublished) what would it be?

My best advice is to take a chance, if you think you have a great story write it down. Write the story for yourself and learn to accept that not everybody is going to love it. At the end of the day when I read my book and it still makes me smile, then I know I definitely accomplished something. Also, a reliable beta reader is a very valuable thing to have.

 

Not just writing advice, what kind of marketing/networking advice would you offer?

I’m still learning the marketing game at this point and it’s very difficult being self-published. My best advice is to connect with people via social media, author groups and search the web. Recently I went to my local library to see about having my book added and the librarian told me about another employee that works with local authors i.e. setting up events for “Meet and Greets” giving the author an opportunity to speak about their work. It’s a great way to reach out to your local community.

 

What is one thing you wish you knew before you started publishing or that you wish you could tell people about writing/publishing?

Do your research.  I’m not sure if I can say this but I published my paperback with KDP and they have been great every step of the way. The only drawback was that they don’t provide discounted author copies at this time.

 

Finally, what is in store for the future? Do you have any plans you’re currently working on?

After finishing my first book in exactly three months I realized that I found my love for writing and I am definitely going to continue.  Currently I am working on another contemporary romance novel which will be titled “Bali”. It’s a destination romance and even through it is very challenging I am having a great time writing it.

 

C.L. Knopf is a contemporary romance writer and resides in East Georgia with her family and three dogs. She enjoys music, painting, writing and catching up with the latest episode of the walking dead. She is currently working on her next novel titled “Bali”, which she is planning to publish by August 2017.

Books, Facebook, Instagram

One thought on “Author Interview: C. L. Knopf

Leave a Reply

